Prelims 2020

Q. In which one of the following groups are all the four countries members of G20?

a) Argentina, Mexico, South Africa and Turkey
b) Australia, Canada, Malaysia and New Zealand
c) Brazil, Iran, Saudi Arabia and Vietnam
d) Indonesia, Japan, Singapore and South Korea
Correct Answer : a) Argentina, Mexico, South Africa and Turkey

Question from UPSC Prelims 2020 GS Paper


Group of Twenty (G20)

Group of Twenty (G20) is an international forum for the governments and central bank governors from 19 countries and the European Union (EU). The G20 aims to discuss policy pertaining to the promotion of international financial stability, and it seeks to address issues that go beyond the responsibilities of any one organization.

Members of the G20

The members of the G20 are:

  1. Argentina
  2. Australia
  3. Brazil
  4. Canada
  5. China
  6. France
  7. Germany
  8. India
  9. Indonesia
  10. Italy
  11. Japan
  12. Mexico
  13. Russia
  14. Saudi Arabia
  15. South Africa
  16. South Korea
  17. Turkey
  18. United Kingdom
  19. United States
  20. European Union (The EU is represented by the European Commission and by the European Central Bank.)

These members represent the world’s largest economies, including both industrialized and developing nations, covering about two-thirds of the world population, 85% of global gross domestic product (GDP), and over 75% of global trade. The G20’s significance lies in its ability to bring together the world’s major economies to discuss and promote high-level policy dialogue on key issues related to global economic stability.

Group of Countries in the G20

To determine which group of countries are all members of the G20, let’s examine each option:

a) Argentina, Mexico, South Africa, and Turkey

All of these countries are indeed members of the G20, which is a forum of the world’s major economies that includes 19 countries and the European Union.

b) Australia, Canada, Malaysia, and New Zealand

While Australia and Canada are members of the G20, Malaysia and New Zealand are not.

c) Brazil, Iran, Saudi Arabia, and Vietnam

Brazil and Saudi Arabia are members of the G20, but Iran and Vietnam are not.

d) Indonesia, Japan, Singapore, and South Korea

Indonesia, Japan, and South Korea are members of the G20, but Singapore is not.

Therefore, the correct answer is:

a) Argentina, Mexico, South Africa, and Turkey

More Questions:
UPSC Factory App
Get everything you need for upsc preparation with just one click! Install now!